Parenting and the J-O-B

Parenting is such a difficult thing.  I’m sitting here with a glass of wine, to take the edge off my day, thinking about my future and subsequently about the years that have brought me here today.  I’ve been married now for 13 years and have two kids, 12 and 10.  Crazy, I know.  Until just recently, I was exclusively a stay-at-home mom.  In the past, if I ever had a job, it was always one that I could do at home.  But times are different now and I know you can relate.  I recently moved to Austin, Texas from Los Angeles and though it was a good move for us as a family, my husband also recently graduated from the USC MBA program and things have been tough ever since, particularly since the student loans kicked in, which in one case was right away!  My God they want our money!

 The reason I write today is because a month after we moved here to Austin, I got a job because of those pesky student loans.  I got lucky and found a job at a local law firm and all was good until the recent holidays hit.  My parenting style, up until recently, was to always be physically and emotionally available to my kids and as a result I was incredibly depressed that I couldn’t spend the winter holidays with them as I had in the past.   My husband ended up working from home during that time (thank goodness that at least he had that option).  This was when I realized as a parent, that I wanted to somehow find a way to work from home again.  This blog is about the journey that’s brought me here and the new one I’m starting.  I hope that you will follow me and all my musings!

I’m really excited because I feel the world is at my fingertips and I can’t wait to share it with you.

About needlestiks n chopstiks

I love to crochet and knit and I love photography and though I don't love cooking quite as much as the other three, I certainly do a whole lot more of it than the three combined! As far as cooking goes, I care hugely about what I'm feeding my family and that it's healthy, fresh and appealing to all the senses particularly to the eyes since that's half of eating! View all posts by needlestiks n chopstiks

Leave a Reply

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Redesigned By M

DIY-er who loves to redesign, repurpose, and reorganize just about everything.

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Ila Ismail

Fashion & Lifestyle Blog

Bloggin While Growing

Muslim, homeschooling, always reading, sometimes gardening, sometimes traveling, sometimes sewing, always learning simply sharing.

danadoodleknits

Modern Knitwear Design by Dana Berry

Flower Faerie Lives Life

Me...Family...Photography...Life :)

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

The Veiled Purl

All about crocheting, sewing, and knitting.

Agujas

The Art of Knitting

KennethJustice.com

The Periphrastic Mind Of A Liberal Arts Major

creative/chump

a blog of saintdemund.com

Backpacking in Bearfeet

Pick a country, learn a few words, and start walking

TheReporterandTheGirlMINUSTheSuperMan!

Personal blog, interracial relationships, dating, author, BWWM,

(pre) concept - break your journey

On travel and Photography

toemail

Pictures of toes, pictures of feet, making the world a better place, one foot at a time.

usmanhashmi

Die Hard Supporter of PaK Sar Zameen Party

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

The Quest for an Abudance in Sunshine

where you find: the key to happiness, personal experience, a redhead's poetry, book reviews, new science, nature, rock'n alt. medicine

A Quiet Riot

Unusual arts and textiles with a bit of sparkle...

Marryl Crafts

Discover your creativity.

thestitchsharer

Knitting, Crochet and Sewing for Beginners

Elodie Under Glass

in vitro veritas: science, feminism and the media

I Am A Writing Monkey

A kid, a girl, a monkey who writes

By Niki Photography

BY NIKI Photography

